746 Gb limitation in a 3 TB hard drive

My 3 TB Western Digital Cavier Black was reporting only 746 GB instead of the expected 3 TB (actual 2.7 TB) even using Gparted.

The drive was connected via USB to a circa-2010 Dell Inspiron 530 running Ubuntu 12.04 and to a Dell T320 server also running 12.04.

I knew the problem was not my BIOS because I had previously mounted the 3 TB in a very old Dell running 12.04.

This time, however, I was connecting the drive as an external hard drive via USB. Only when I connected via eSATA Gparted reported 2.7 TB.

So beware!

Leave a Reply

