Handbrake in Ubuntu 9.10

I installed Handbrake 0.94 in Ubuntu 9.10 32bits and although I was able to run it, it would give very bad encoding (choppy video with green patches on it, broken audio, unwatchable).

I tried installing older versions and although I was able to install 1.0.1, which I successfully used in Gutsy and in Hardy (0.93 didn’t work in Hardy), in Karmic, I had no success (GTK problems).

The solution was using the command line version of Handbrake 1.0.1. It sounds scary, but actually it is pretty easy to use and I find it faster to do the job than with the GUI.

My command line:

HandBrakeCLI -i /media/[DVD NAME]/  -L -N eng -S 1000MB  -o film_name.avi

I may need more adjustments in the future, but this command line works for the basic video.

Leave a Reply

