VirtualBox

I tried to use VMware/VMplayer to run Window$ under Linux and my experiences with it in both my laptop (Inspiron 1.66 Ghz, 2 Gb RAM) and Core Duo II (2.66 Ghz, 2 Gb RAM) were horrid.

VMplayer was very slow and took me some time to figure out how to install the network, and file sharing never worked.

Now I use Sun’s VirtualBox, which I strongly recommend:

  1. download .deb for Gusty at http://www.virtualbox.org/
  2. install with dpkg -i and that’s it. No compilation, no kernel modules, no tons of configuration.
  3. no painful registration
  4. run VirtualBox and install your OS. It allows for a resizable disk, unlike VMplayer
  5. network was recognized immediately, unlike VMplayer
  6. file sharing requires installing “Guest additions” (Devices menu in the tool bar), which is painless and quick. Then go to Devices -> Shared folders… and share your Linux folder
  7. VirtualBox (as VMplayer) deals with the mouse pointer seamlessly. Really cool.
  8. I haven’t tried to enable USB, but I’ve found recipes on the internet.
  9. I allocated 700 Mb for Window$ and I think I could use even less (unlike VMplayer)

One thought on “VirtualBox

Leave a Reply

