Installing VMplayer on Ubuntu 7.10

After upgrading the kernel to 2.6.22-15, VMware-server stopped working. The easiest solution I found was to use VMplayer, instead. However, running vmware-install.pl didn’t work, because it said that a few vmware modules were installed. I tried to remove them to no avail.

The solution is to edit the scripts vmware-install.pl and /usr/bin/vmware-config.pl, changing:

From:
if (scalar(@modules) > 0) {
To:
if (scalar(@modules) == 0) {

Credit goes to Marcelo Sales: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=516916

UPDATE: VMplayer runs very slowly on both my Duo 2.66 Mhz, 2 Gb RAM and Inspiron laptop. I tried VirtualBox (http://www.virtualbox.org/) and I really like it. It is much faster and lighter than VMplayer, I strongly recommend it in place of VMware software. See my post about my experience with VirtualBox here.

Leave a Reply

